General Information


The IARC Ethics Committee (IEC)

The IEC is composed of eleven members from a variety of backgrounds, all of whom have been appointed by the Chairman of the Governing Council. Eight members come from outside the Agency and three from the Agency staff and WHO (to be announced):

  • Dr Behnoush Abedi-Ardekani
  • Dr Samar Al-Homoud (Chair)
  • Dr Michel Baduraux
  • Mr Kris D′Hoore
  • Professor Béatrice Fervers
  • Professor Kadir Mutlu Hayran
  • Dr Angeliki Kerasidou (Vice-Chair)
  • Dr Ghislaine Scélo
  • Dr Hans Storm
  • Dr Salvatore Vaccarella
  • Professor Paolo Vineis

The IARC Ethics Advisory Group (EAG)

The EAG is a small group of international bioethics experts, established to provide specialist expertise to the IEC to help resolve complex ethical issues. The members are as follows:

  • Prof Michael Parker, Professor of Bioethics and Director, The Ethox Centre, University of Oxford
  • Dr Emmanuelle Rial-Sebbag, INSERM Toulouse, Faculty of Medicine
  • Prof Giuseppe Testa, University of Milano, European Institute of Oncology
  • Dr Rodolfo Saracci, former Chair of the IEC, retired member